Custom Search

Saturday, May 31, 2008

LB 3, CHI 8: Outlaws get 1st W of '08

By Josh Feldman

The Chico Outlaws celebrated receiving their championship rings by beating the Armada, the team they defeated in the 2007 GBL Championship Series, 8-3 at Nettleton Stadium Saturday night.

The Armada (3-2) failed to score first for the first time in 2008, as the Outlaws 1B Julian Benavidez hit a 2 RBI double to left field in the bottom of the first.

SP Rik Currier (0-1) took the loss, giving up 4 runs (all earned) on 6 hits while striking out two and walking four in five innings pitched.

Outlaws SP Derrek Loop retired the first six batters he faced before Armada C David Parrish put Long Beach on the board with a solo homerun to lead off the third inning. The Outlaws (1-5) retaliated with a run in the bottom of the frame when CF Lino Garcia’s triple scored 3B Jose Valdez to put Chico up 3-1.

Armada DH Tony Torcato added a run in the fourth when he singled to drive in CF Steve Moss.

Ryan Claypool came in to relieve Currier in the sixth inning and gave up four runs on four hits to add to the Outlaws lead. In the sixth, Valdez started the scoring with a two-RBI double before eventually coming around to score his third run of the game.

The Armada and the Outlaws will wrap up this three-game series Sunday night. Jerome Williams will start for Long Beach and Tyler Pearson is expected to take the ball for Chico. First pitch is scheduled for 6:05pm and you can hear all the action live at

No comments: